Alamo City RV Park

1011 Gembler Rd.
San Antonio, TX 78219
(210) 337-6501
Location: 29.43622, -98.41461

CLOSEST PARK TO THE RODEO GROUNDS!
Visit our newly renovated campground and enjoy the easiest access to the San Antonio Rodeo. If sightseeing or FIESTA is your thing, we are a short bus ride away from the Alamo, River Walk and all things downtown!
Open All Year
Last Year's Rate
Card(s) Accepted
debit cards   discover   visa   mastercard   american express

Facility

Type (RV Park)
Partial Handicap Access
Emergency Phone

Policies

Pets Welcome
Pet Restrictions
Pet Restriction on Breed
No Tents

Sites

Spaces Available (162)
Width (30)
Paved Sites (41)
Max Length (60)
Gravel Sites (121)
30 Amp
50 Amp
Shaded (Some)
Big Rig Sites
Full Hookups (162)
Max Amps (50)
Pull-thrus (58)
Pull-thru Size (30 x 60)
Back-ins (30 x 60)
Room for Slideouts (Yes)
Site Length (60)
Patios
Table at Site

Internet

WiFi at Overnite Sites
WiFi at Park
WiFi at Park Supports Mobile Devices
2 Devices supported per Overnite Site
162 Sites with WiFi

Other Amenities & Services

Road Condition (Good)
Road Type (Paved)
Restroom and Showers
Laundry
Firewood
Ice
Escort to Site
Guest Services
Restrooms

Recreational Facilities

Swimming Pool
Swimming
Horseshoes
Game Room
Planned Activities
Outdoor Games
Pavilion

Discounts

Military Discount

On-Site Rentals

Customer Reviews

Alamo City RV Park
Avg Rating 3.72out of 5 stars 3.5 out of 5 stars  (18) Reviews
4 out of 5 stars   Avg Facility Rating
interior roads, sites, registration area, hookups, recreation, swimming, security, laundry, store and building maintenance...
3.5 out of 5 stars   Avg Restroom Rating
cleanliness and physical characteristics of restrooms, including interior construction, adequate supplies/odor free, adequate number of facilities, exterior appearance and location in relation to park spaces, and interior appearance.
3.5 out of 5 stars   Avg Appeal Rating
the park's setting and site layout, function and identification of signage, overall exterior building maintenance, noise, trash disposal, litter and debris around the grounds and sites, and appearance of grounds, sites and entrance area.

Kathie

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: November, 2019
5 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
Restrooms very clean, and spacious. Laundry facilities clean and in good condition. The people working in this park eere all really friendly and very helpful. We would come back to this one.
Was this review helpful?    (0)

dmrsfj

Reviews: 3
Helpful Reviews: 1
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: September, 2019
5 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
Five star rating in all categories and if we could give the staff 10 stars we would!!! Check in was quick and easy which is exactly what you want after driving all day. The staff is friendly, smart and very helpful. Each occasion we spoke with them they were quick with an answer and a smile. There is a bus stop right outside the gate that will take you to the Riverwalk. From there you can connect to other transportation to explore the city. SO easy!! Laundry area is clean and has new washers and dryers. The campground was clean, neat...even the dumpster area where you toss your garbage was clean and neat and not smelly. The pool was clean, there are plenty of tables and chairs for relaxing by the pool. The pool was a blessed relief from the incredibly hot temperatures 90+ degrees with 90% humidity. The negatives - and very minor but want to give a complete review... There are long-term / full time campers living in the park. They are in an older section of the park. The residents could do better in keeping their sites clean and neat. The park did not have cable in the section where we parked. But if you have a strong antennae you can get several channels. We stayed three days and enjoyed every minute. We’ll stay again next time we are in the area.
Was this review helpful?    (0)

Kwright

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: March, 2019
5 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
We really enjoyed our stay, rest rooms were clean, pool was warm, the gentlemen in the front office were very informative about what to see and do in the area and how to get there. They have a bus stop right in front. Concrete pads, well maintained. They were also putting in new patios for the back in sites. Very nice stay.
Was this review helpful?    (4)

Carla

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: February, 2019
5 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
N/A  
5 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
N/A  
Recently stayed at Alamo City RV Park. As a winter Texan. The back in site was large and deep, the patio concrete and large enough for a picnic table, grill and chairs. There was plenty of room between sites. Witnessed many improvements to the park. The heated pool is great, the new pull-thru sites have concrete pads, and the gates make the park a great gated community. The staff was nice to deal with and knowledgeable, and it was an easy on off from I-10. All in all if in the area would stay there again.
Was this review helpful?    (6)

Cruisin Couple

Reviews: 7
Helpful Reviews: 5
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: November, 2018
5 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
The reception was the most helpful and enthusiastic we've encountered. Advised us on bus service, where to go and what to do with only one day to do it. The Park is neat, clean and obviously well managed. A real treat!.
Was this review helpful?    (7)

R and D Show

Reviews: 4
Helpful Reviews: 3
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: June, 2018
4 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
Great resort. Close to everything. Bus stop right out front if you choose not to drive. Large sites, new electric. Immaculate , inexpensive laundry room. Nice pool. Nice concrete pads with new picnic tables. We were very happy here. Yes it's hot if you're not lucky enough to get a site with a tree. but they are working on that with the planting of new trees . We were pleasantly surprised. Would absolutely go back. Front desk has a lot to do with that. they were great.
Was this review helpful?    (6)

Baby Boomer 503

Reviews: 9
Helpful Reviews: 6
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: November, 2017
2 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
N/A  
N/A  
N/A  
This park is in desperate need of improvements. The sites are generous in terms of space but are not particularly appealing with regard to atmosphere. The access roads are in poor condition and in desperate need of repair. The bathrooms appear to have been updated and are clean but the walk there is unpleasant. Nothing about this park was impressive.
Was this review helpful?    (0)

SJCR

Reviews: 9
Helpful Reviews: 8
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: May, 2017
4 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
This is a nice park. Clean well kept, the restrooms and showers are private and look like they had been remodeled. The only down fall is that the are in an industrial area. The trains come thru at 4:00 AM and it sounds like the yard behind them, starts loading trucks at 5:00 AM. I only spent one night but would stay again.
Was this review helpful?    (2)

Dixon-89

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: May, 2017
5 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
N/A  
5 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
When we arrived at River Walk RV park my husband and I were both very impressed. The park is clean and the sites are wonderful. We had a pull thru that was large enough for our coach and our tow with room left over. Between the RVs there are green grassy areas so you aren't near anybody else. The staff is amazing to say the least. Our first night I had a serious accident while I was going into the coach. There was a problem getting the bleeding under control. As we were leaving the park my husband ask in the office where the nearest hospital was. Immediately they called the paramedics, who were there within five minutes. They were very professional and at the same time very caring. At the hospital later that night my problem was taken care of,but what could have been an overwhelming experience wandering around a strange town looking for help was handled beautifully by the staff at Riverwalk Rv. They are also pet friendly. A really pretty area for walking your dog. I can't imagine going back to San Antonio and not staying at River Walk RV Park.
Was this review helpful?    (8)
Response from River Walk RV Park
10/2/2017 9:04:08 AM
Dear Dixon-89; It was nice to read your review, and happy to hear you are well after your fall. The safety and care of our guests is our number One priority. We look forward to seeing you again whenever you happen to pass by our City. In the mean time again, thank you for taking the time to write your review. River Walk RV Park

Rgoshorn

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: March, 2017
2 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
N/A  
N/A  
N/A  
I selected this campground because of its name, but it's 4 miles away from the river walk. The site we were assigned was gravel with a flimsy plastic pipe water connection and dirty gravel. No picnic table, just a small slab. Some parts of the campground were grass and nice, but even thou spaces were available we ended up with a very poor site. the WIFI was unable to keep up with my Amazon TV. I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful?    (3)
Response from River Walk RV Park
10/2/2017 9:00:13 AM
Dear Rgoshorn; Thank you for taking the time to comment on our park. All reviews are seriously considered and we do our best to rectify anything our guests might have encountered while visiting us. We are sorry you were not completely satisfied and I wish you would have come to us so we could have had the opportunity to remedy the things mentioned right then and there. We do have picnic tables although not enough for the 140 sites we have. We frequently move them around for guests when they ask for one if their site does not have one. Like you mentioned, yes, most of our sites are gravel with a cement pad anywhere from 7 x 12 to 12 x 30 ft. for them to use as their porch. I am sorry you were not happy with your site, we would have been more than happy to let you move to another site if you would have let us know. The Wifi provided to our guest is fantastic! We here at the office are on the same band width. Our wifi is not meant for streaming or gaming. We have recently installed new vent fans in all of our private restrooms/showers. We hope you visit us again as we continue making improvements, and let us know if there is anything we could do to make your stay more enjoyable.

Ontario travelers

Reviews: 8
Helpful Reviews: 6
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: March, 2017
2 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
2 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
2 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
1 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
The park looks like there is work being done. Still needs clean up and changes to roads and campsites. The concrete pad on our site was not close to where the electric and sewer was. The restrooms are ok but need fans in them. This area is very humid and there is no way for the restrooms to ever dry.
Was this review helpful?    (2)
Response from River Walk RV Park
10/2/2017 9:08:06 AM
Wanted to thank you for taking the time to write your comments. We appreciate each one and take them all seriously and see if there is anything we can do to make improvements for your stay. We are constantly making improvements. New ventilation fans have been installed in the restrooms just recently. The cement pad is supposed to be used as your porch where your door would open onto, which is were it is. The sewer and water would then be on the other side of your rig, not by your porch and front door. If you have any more concerns or thoughts please call us so we can address them. River Walk RV Park. 210-337-6501.

Mr Safety Too

Reviews: 6
Helpful Reviews: 6
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: March, 2017
3 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
3 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
N/A  
4 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
I read the other reviews of this place after we booked our stay. I was hoping that the previous reviewers had some axe to grind and that things were really not as bad as all that. To a certain extent, they were right. Here is what we experienced: 1. It is in an industrial area east of downtown SA. Gembler Rd is a busy road with lots of noisy trucks. 2. This park was laid out for small rigs. roads are narrow. Turns are tight and the layout of the park lacks logical routes. My 40' MH was too tall and too long to easily negotiate the back part of the park. 3. Electrical utilities and the power lines to feed them are above ground. The power feed lines are supported by poles and these lines sag between poles. The top of my rig touched some of these lines. Very nervous making. Neither my rig or the lines were damaged. 4. Trees that overhang the roads are not properly trimmed. Tree limbs dragged against the sides and roof of my rig on several occasions as I drove through. 5. It appeared that many road potholes had recently been patched. Road surfaces were still not smooth. Corners were tight. I took great care in driving my rig through the park. 6. My rig is equipped with a digital shore power voltmeter. This measures the voltage of the power coming into my rig. I during our stay I saw it drop as low at 102 Volts AC. This is low enough to cause damage to some sensitive electronic equipment. This is one indication that the electrical distribution system may be in need of an upgrade.
Was this review helpful?    (9)
Response from River Walk RV Park
9/26/2017 2:08:58 PM
Thank you for taking your time to share you comments. I wanted to take the time to get back to you regarding some of your concerns. As we are in the city near downtown of course there is going to be a lot of movement of traffic. We are in a mixed use area of town. The counter advantage to that is that we are a 10 minute maximum drive to downtown. As this is an "older" park, some of the roads are a bit narrow, however, plenty of room to maneuver any size rig. We have plenty of extra large sites, with some up to 90' long x 53' wide. The park is in the process of upgrading all sites with new meter boxes, with over 2/3 having the new boxes. The power lines that you were concerned about have been removed. I am sorry that some of the over hanging branches might have dragged along your side and roof. As we are a large park we are constantly trimming, and do our best to take care of them when we see them and we appreciate it when our guests mention them so we can take care of the ones we might have missed immediately. We had the City of San Antonio (CPS) electric company come out to check on our Voltage to be sure it was correct. They checked the different sights and said that it was all fine. We are sorry you might have experience some difficulty with your electricity. Again, thank you for your concerns and we have tried to rectify the ones we could. Please visit us again, and come in to the office and let us know if there is anything more we can do to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

red trude

Reviews: 13
Helpful Reviews: 9
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: February, 2017
5 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
great place for 1 nite or longer I spent a week here, if you want you can take the bus which stops right outside the gate. very friendly people plenty of shade trees, bath house was clean an nice showers since I am 6'4 its nice to have a shower that I dont have to bend over for. the rodeo is just down the road if thats what you want.
Was this review helpful?    (1)
Response from River Walk RV Park
10/2/2017 9:08:27 AM
Dear red tube; Thank you very much for taking your time to write your review. We appreciate each review that is written. Yes, the Rodeo is within walking distance from River Walk RV Park. We get pretty booked up during that time. If you are able to visit us again, you will see that we put new ventilation fans in the restrooms. Again, thank you so much for taking the time to write your comments. River Walk RV Park

SAR1988

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: January, 2017
1 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
1 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
1 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
1 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
Where do I begin? OMG... this place is a dump!! It's in the middle of a ghetto neighborhood and backs up to an industrial plant of some sort. Noisy and probably the worst park we have seen. The park design is ridiculous. Not big rig friendly at all. Narrow pot holed streets and all roads are dead ends. No loop around the park.They parked us in a pull through that has a telephone pole at both ends of the site. Still trying to figure out how we are going to get out in the morning. Spoke to the park manager about it and he was no help. Was clueless that there were telephone poles blocking the site. Front office staff said we would need to back out and go to the end of the park where there is a gate we could leave thru. Seriously??? The gate has a full chain link fence behind it and is impassable. Having to ask people to move their vehicles so we can try and maneuver our way out of this dump. Thankfully it is just an overnight stop. Hoping nothing gets broken in to or stolen during the night. Although we will probably be awake all night due to the loud music coming from the neighborhood and constant train noise. Do yourself a favor and don't waste your money here. Oh...no park cable or even a picnic table either and the bathrooms are disgusting. Would have been better off in a Walmart parking lot. If I could have given it zero stars I would. Good Sam should be ashamed to be associated with this hell hole!!
Was this review helpful?    (10)
Response from River Walk RV Park
7/18/2017 1:05:55 PM
Dear RVer, We are disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Good Sam has rated this park with honest ratings and we are definitely not a "hell hole". Our guests are our number 1 priority here. We do hope you give us a try in the future. Cordially, RWRVP Management

43Monaco

Reviews: 2
Helpful Reviews: 2
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: December, 2016
4 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
N/A  
N/A  
4 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
This park was GREAT! The 2 rows on the east side are nice big flat gravel pads with plenty of grass space between units. Friendly staff and the bus line goes right into downtown, very convenient location. Full hookups, pool, showers. Will definitely stay again if we ever get back to SA.
Was this review helpful?    (4)
Response from River Walk RV Park
9/26/2017 4:00:29 PM
Thank you so much 43Monaco for taking your time to write your comments. We really appreciate the things you said. We continue to make improvements and hope you will notice them next time you visit us. Sincerely RiverWalkRV Park

cvbryant

Reviews: 2
Helpful Reviews: 2
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: October, 2016
4 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
Park is being improved daily, by all the staff. Second visit, we will stay again. Staff was very helpful when special needs were required. We had a pull-thru, however the park has very large back-ins also, that can take all types of busses and fifth wheels.
Was this review helpful?    (3)
Response from River Walk RV Park
10/2/2017 9:02:44 AM
Dear Cvbryant; Thanks for the shout out! We are always improving and doing upkeep here. We welcome you back anytime! Safe travels....RWRVP

Gailrver

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: August, 2016
5 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
We enjoyed our stay at River Walk RV Park. Great location and so close to downtown and all the sites. The bus stop out front was very convenient and an added surprise! We didn't have to drive amywhere! Office staff is warm, friendly, and made us feel right at home upon arrival and even escorted us to our site. Large sites and clean well-manicured grounds. We will be back. Thank you Angie and staff!
Was this review helpful?    (5)
Response from River Walk RV Park
9/26/2017 3:46:40 PM
We wanted to take the time to thank you for your comments. We do the best we can to try and make our guests enjoy their stay with us. And we are glad you were able to "feel right at home". We look forward to seeing you again. River Walk RV Park.

Summer2016

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: June, 2016
1 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
1 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
1 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
1 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
Nasty!!!! Pot holes everywhere. Staff not friendly. NO SHADE, no tables, no fire pits. Sites are small and close together. No restrooms no laundry facilities. Not close the the riverwalk or anything interesting for that matter. It's in a horrible neighborhood. This was an overnight stop for us, glad we weren't staying long. I can't believe good Sam recommends this place. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.
Was this review helpful?    (14)
Response from River Walk RV Park
9/16/2016 10:27:19 AM
We would love to speak with you about your stay. It appears that you must have missed seeing our amenities available to all of our guests (showers/bathrooms, laundry room, pool, guest pavilion with grill and fire pit) as well as the convenient city bus stop just outside of our park entrance that takes you right downtown to the River Walk and Alamo areas! Please give us a call, and we can tell you all about what our park has to offer! RWRV Park
Information, views and opinions expressed on this website are the views of the person posting the message, do not reflect the views of Good Sam, and are not endorsed, supported, encouraged, sanctioned, verified or agreed upon by Good Sam.

Directions

From I-35 & AT & T Ctr Pkwy: Go 1/2 mi S on AT & T Ctr Pkwy, then 1 mi E on Gembler Rd (R)

Get Directions