BEAVER LAKE CAMPGROUND Relaxation. Tranquility. The way it should be. Beaver Lake Campground is centrally located to all the tourist attractions in the Black Hills. Amenities include: water slide, heated pool and playground for your family fun.
cleanliness and physical characteristics of restrooms, including interior construction, adequate supplies/odor free, adequate number of facilities, exterior appearance and location in relation to park spaces, and interior appearance.
the park's setting and site layout, function and identification of signage, overall exterior building maintenance, noise, trash disposal, litter and debris around the grounds and sites, and appearance of grounds, sites and entrance area.
This campground has the worst cancellation policy of any Good Sam park. My wife and I had a 2 night reservation that needed to be moved 2 days later than reserved because my wife's Mother passed away.
When I called to reschedule our days, we were NEVER told we would be a charged $20 fee to do so.
Upon arrival the park staff were very confused and inept at getting our reservation for us. Upon checking on the charges we saw the $20 change fee and after leaving the park we questioned it.
The person we talked to was unsympathetic about the situation why we changed the reservation and told us she would not reverse the $20 change fee. When we told her we would not be writing favorable review of their park, she tried to suggest we were threatening her.
Besides the cancellation policy, the park is dusty, and sites are very difficult to get large trailers or motorhomes into.
There are many other parks in the Custer/Mt. Rushmore area that have far better amentities and cancellation policies to consider
Buyer beware on this park, find another park.
Was this review helpful? (1)
A response from Beaver Lake Campground
8/18/2019 8:30:56 PM
We are very sorry this Lady had a family tragedy. On 24 hr short notice she requested a change of dates on the 4 th of July week. We struggled mightily to accommodate her, when we were 100% full by reservation. even upgraded their site to a 50a fHu (17) from a 30a W/E uprated at no charge. The site ( 22) she reserved sat empty for those days, as we do not have drive in traffic over holidays.
We do not give in to threats of bad reviews, we stand our ground, remind of our signed,agreed to policy,
Again, we empathize with the family for their misfortune.
The other camps she references must have had more availibility.
Reviews: 4 Helpful Reviews: 1
Date of Stay: July, 2019
good location to city and Custer State Park. Appealing for families. Most pads seemed roomy enough. Plenty of trees and shade at about half the sites. Camp fires are allowed which created smoke problems bordering on the unhealthy and had to keep windows closed. Restroom and showers were small but cleaned well. Wifi OK.
We stayed here for 2 days and it was the worst place I have ever stayed. The cabin was filthy . We were told it slept 2 to 6 people. We were also told it had a couch that made out into a bed. This was not true .The couch was a futon that made out into a bed. It was black with ground in dirt. There was a loft with 2 mattress on the floor of the loft that you had to crawl into. You could not even stand up in.. It looked like it had not been cleaned in over a year. There were dead bugs and cobwebs all over it and the mattress were full of dust and dirt. The bathroom was just as dirty. The shower door was broken, there was ground in diet on the floor of the shower and there was black mold in the shower. The exhaust fan was hanging down from the ceiling. There was toothpaste on the floor from the last people who stayed there, they just covered it with the rug. We would not even get in the shower without shoes on When we arrived the lady who checked us in told us that we reserved 2 Cabins and charged us for 2 cabins. We had to talk to the manager the next Moring which turned out they double booked us and it was there mistake The lady stood there and keep telling us that we called. We had to pay for the second cabin but they refunded us the money it is just the point that they charged us. There attitude was not costumer friendly at all. This park does not look anything like the pictures on the web page. The camp sites for campers look to be alright. We never saw a lake at all I am sure it is there somewhere. When you are a 1000 miles away from home you do not want this to happen to you.
Was this review helpful? (2)
A response from Beaver Lake Campground
12/8/2018 8:32:25 PM
We regret the visitor to our cabin 7 found it unsuitable. The family reunion she was part of and family reserved many campsites and cabins, cancelled some on short to no notice. In the interest of relations,to the family group, against policy and to our loss, we refunded her deposit for the other reserved cabin.
Our cabins are well represented with descriptions and photos on our website.
Cabin 7 is a bath with kitchen 4 bed cabin. It isnt big, it does have a low head room loft. A Futon So how does she get away with reviewing all of our facilities as poor, when she never used any? And when she got refund against all policy? And is not a Good Sam member, so using a family members membership number to post.
Reviews: 3 Helpful Reviews: 2
Date of Stay: July, 2018
We stayed at Beaver Lake in a 36’ fifth wheel in July 2018. The campground staff is friendly and gave us some ideas of places to check out. It was about 30 min to Mount Rushmore, 15min to Crazy Horse and 30 min to Wind Cave. Sites were cut into a hill but they were not hard to navigate. They were flat and connections were easy. We only stayed one night but would have stayed more if time allowed. There is a lot to do in the area. The waterslide and pool looked like a lot of fun but there was so much more to do we didn’t get to try it out. Worth the price!
My husband and I and our pup travel extensively. This campground rates in the top 5. Rates were great. I have never found more helpful, friendly people. Every person here was awesome. They couldn't do enough for us, but at the same time stayed out of our business. Super clean, beautiful campground. Not a bunch of silly rules. Allow adults to be adults. VERY pet friendly. Would highly recommend.
great camp ground, shady and clean. gives the feeling of peacefulness after a long day of site seeing. quick check in and guide to space.
shower stalls could be a tad more private feeling up by the check in. doesn't feel very secure. for such a busy area, but they are clean and nice. very convent to all the monuments.
This camp was beautiful. The management was helpful and friendly, everything was well groomed and maintained. Nothing was left out. They even have a compressor for visitor use for your tires. Wonderful experience. We will visit again.
Had a fabulous site out back, away from the road. Was nervous about backing in and up to the site but had great directions from the escort. Very quiet for the two of us as we prefer. Convenient to Custer State Park, Mt. Rushmore, etc. Store employees were very helpful in recommending what to see in our four days there, and what to have on our "maybe" list. Would stay there again if in the area. Clean restrooms.
Very nice campground and great owners. They take pride in their campground. They had fire pits and we were able to enjoy smores for the first time of our trip. The grounds are tree filled. They have a nice playground. Free bikes to use for all ages. Nice little store for supplies and not far from many attractions. Clean bathrooms and really could not ask for anymore.
This was our second stay at this campground, as we stayed here last year in October. This time we stayed for 7 nights. The staff and owners are very nice and very helpful. They work hard to keep a nice, clean campground for everyone to enjoy. The shower house/restrooms were very clean all the time. We saw the owner and some of the staff always helping incoming campers to their site and would help them backup into their sites. We highly recommend this campground and we'll be staying there again.
Thank you for the kind comments. Our staff is mostly to thank for our facility and folks like you who give us ideas to improve.
Just A Happy Camper
Reviews: 4 Helpful Reviews: 4
Date of Stay: July, 2015
This place was very nice with an escort to camp site, owners were extremely nice, clean bathrooms. we had a very bad hail storm come through one evening and the staff handled it superbly with all the trailer damage and washed out road shoulders. By the next day all was fixed and back to normal...Kudos
Was this review helpful? (9)
Response from Beaver Lake Campground
1/4/2016 10:48:43 PM
Thank all of you for such kind reviews of our home, and yours when away from your home.
Your grateful hosts Max & Cindy.
Look forward in 2016 to the best internet and speed we can get from our IP. We Are!
Information, views and opinions expressed on this website are the views of the person posting the message, do not reflect the views of Good Sam, and are not endorsed, supported, encouraged, sanctioned, verified or agreed upon by Good Sam.
The three-number rating that accompanies each campground listing in the directory gives readers an at-a-glance assessment of a campground's amenities, cleanliness and environment.
How to read the Good Sam Rating 10/10 /10. All three ratings categories are measured on a scale of 1 to 10, with 10 being the best.Less than 1 percent of parks or campgrounds receive the coveted 10 / 10 / 10 rating, which indicates superior facilities that are well maintained, clean, well-appointed restrooms and a highly appealing appearance.Campgrounds are inspected annually by dedicated RVers like you.
Completeness of facilities
10 / 10 / 10 The first campground rating evaluates completeness and quality of facilities.In this category we rate interior roads, sites, registration area, hookups, recreation, swimming, security, laundry, store and building maintenance.
Cleanliness and physical characteristics of restrooms and showers
10 / 10 / 10 The second rating category concerns the cleanliness and physical characteristics of toilets, walls, showers, sinks/counters/mirrors and floor. If a park achieves a full point in each of the above, it receives a star (), indicating exceptionally clean restrooms.
Also rated are physical characteristics of restrooms, including interior construction, adequate supplies/odor free, adequate number of facilities, exterior appearance and location in relation to park spaces, and interior appearance.
Visual Appeal and Environmental Quality
10 / 10 / 10 This category addresses the park's setting and site layout, function and identification of signage, overall exterior building maintenance, noise, trash disposal, litter and debris around the grounds and sites, and appearance of grounds, sites and entrance area.