Tanglewood Camping

787 Tanglewood Rd
Covington, PA 16917
(570) 549-8299
Location: 41.72785, -77.00584

Reach out and touch the stars. Bring a tent or RV of any size and enjoy our large sites. Prefer a cabin? We have rustic, deluxe or lakeside to choose from. Drop a line or your toes in our license-free fishing lake.
Open May 01 - Oct 31
Last Year's Rate
Card(s) Accepted
debit cards   discover   visa   mastercard


Type (Campground)
Dump Station


Folding Tent Campers Allowed
Pets Welcome
Pet Restrictions
Pet Restriction on Size
Pet Restriction on Quantity
Tent Camping Allowed


Total Spaces (128)
Spaces Available (58)
Width (30)
Max Length (60)
Gravel Sites (58)
30 Amp
50 Amp
Seasonal Sites
Shaded (Mostly)
Big Rig Sites
Full Hookups (5)
Water (53)
Electric (53)
Max Amps (50)
Pull-thrus (14)
Pull-thru Size (30 x 60)
Back-ins (25 x 40)
Room for Slideouts (No)
Site Length (60)
Fire Rings
Table at Site
Tent-Only Sites (6)


Cabin/Cottage Rentals (5)


Dedicated Tenting Area
Covered Area w/Picnic Table


WiFi at Overnite Sites
WiFi at Park
WiFi at Park Supports Mobile Devices
1 Devices supported per Overnite Site
15 Sites with WiFi

Other Amenities & Services

Road Condition (Good)
Road Type (Gravel)
Restroom and Showers
RV Supplies
Metered LP Gas
Snack Bar
Escort to Site
Fishing Supplies
Onsite Rentals (5)
Enclosed Dog Run
Pet Supplies

Recreational Facilities

Boat Rental
No Motors
Paddle Boats
Body Of Water (Tanglewood Lake)
Rec Hall
Planned Activities
Outdoor Games
Pedal Carts

Recreation Nearby (within 10 miles)

Mountain Biking
Whitewater Rafting

Hunting Nearby (within 20 miles)



Military Discount

On-Site Rentals

Customer Reviews

Tanglewood Camping
Avg Rating 3.83out of 5 stars 3.5 out of 5 stars  (6) Reviews
4 out of 5 stars   Avg Facility Rating
interior roads, sites, registration area, hookups, recreation, swimming, security, laundry, store and building maintenance...
4.5 out of 5 stars   Avg Restroom Rating
cleanliness and physical characteristics of restrooms, including interior construction, adequate supplies/odor free, adequate number of facilities, exterior appearance and location in relation to park spaces, and interior appearance.
4 out of 5 stars   Avg Appeal Rating
the park's setting and site layout, function and identification of signage, overall exterior building maintenance, noise, trash disposal, litter and debris around the grounds and sites, and appearance of grounds, sites and entrance area.

Jim B

Reviews: 2
Helpful Reviews: 1
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: June, 2020
5 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
We just had a wonderful stay at Tanglewood Camping. The grounds were very nicely maintained and the facilities were very clean and in perfect working order. The staff of Tanglewood was nothing but fantastic: They all were very friendly and attentive, never making us feel like we were bothering them or that they were 'put-out' to be of assistance. The fellow campers were all very friendly and the folks who were obviously seasonal campers were very welcoming and made us feel part of the group. No-one was loud, rowdy, belligerent, overly-intoxicated, or inconsiderate of others. People all drove their vehicles and golf carts quietly, slowly and respectfully to others. The kids at the playground and the swimming area were all well-mannered, welcoming and friendly to both our children. The swimming area was clean and the had a nice sandy beach large enough for many to enjoy comfortably. My daughter (4yr old) simply loved the playground and playing with her new friends. The camp store was nicely outfitted and has very reasonable prices. I recommend taking advantage of the breakfast that the owner himself along with his staff make right in the camp store on weekend mornings...very worth it and obviously made with a genuine interest to do things right, as is obvious with the rest of the facility. In short, I sincerely and strongly suggest Tanglewood Camping for a nice family or couple's vacation. You'll have a great experience and I bet you'll leave knowing you'll return again.
Was this review helpful?    (0)
A response from Tanglewood Camping
7/14/2020 1:40:11 PM
Thank you so much for your great review! We appreciate you taking the time to write such nice words about our campground. We hope to see you again soon!


Reviews: 3
Helpful Reviews: 3
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: June, 2018
5 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
Yes, the road is a bit rough - but, not nearly as rough as another campground we've stayed out... and once you get to the top & it opens up into Tanglewood - it's beautiful! We stayed in a end-space, which opened up to view the lake/pond - gorgeous, so we weren't crowded at all. Other campers seemed very nice - campground was quiet. Restrooms were very clean & the landscaping around them was pretty - flowerbeds everywhere. They also offered several conveniences that other campgrounds do not have - sink for tent campers to wash dishes in, etc. Store/office is extremely nice - lots of supplies available, so many things to look at, it's almost like a museum with the antiques on the back porch & the stuffed animals on display. It was very enjoyable walking around in there looking at everything. We will definitely stay here if we are up in that area again!
Was this review helpful?    (1)
A response from Tanglewood Camping
10/16/2018 2:09:03 PM
Sandersons, Thank you for the awesome review! We really appreciate it. If you are ever in the area again, we would love to have you stay with us! Thank you Tanglewood Camping

I heart camping

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: July, 2018
2 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
1 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
3 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
1 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
Well first of all dont believe what you see online. All sites are very close together even though they look spacious on the map. THEY ARE SMALL . Most of the sites are seasonal. The drive to tbe campground is rough. The roads are not good and my camper was all over the place. In the campground the roads have huge ruts, I believe this is on purpose to slow people down. The pond is nice and so is the dog park. unfortunately with no privacy I won't be returning.
Was this review helpful?    (0)
A response from Tanglewood Camping
10/16/2018 2:12:21 PM
Thank you for your compliment on our dog park and our lake. We are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience. The weekend you stayed with us was part of our Fourth of July holiday weekend, so the campground was very busy. As for the size of the sites, we do have bigger and roomier sites available than the one you chose on our online reservation system. Because we have had so much rain, the driveway has been redone multiple times this year so that it is a smoother drive. Yes, there are speed humps in the campground so that our guests will maintain the 5MPH speed limit, as this has been an issue in the past. It is our main goal to make sure our guests have the best experience at our campground. Please reach out to us directly if you would be willing to give us another chance to turn your experience around. Thank you, Tanglewood Camping

Brasstown Traveler

Reviews: 9
Helpful Reviews: 7
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: June, 2018
4 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
A great off the beaten path campground. It sits atop a mountain. Be prepared to to climb, make sure you are in a lower gear as you start up the steep hill. The only downside of the camp was non reachable internet service. We never got connected.
Was this review helpful?    (0)
A response from Tanglewood Camping
10/16/2018 2:14:31 PM
Brasstown Traveler, Thank you for your very nice review and feedback! We are currently in the process of finding a better solution for providing wifi throughout the entire park. We do have a few hotspots at the campground as well! We hope that you will come back and stay with us again. Thank you, Tanglewood Camping

Four Mutties

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: June, 2017
5 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
We arrived at this beautiful, bucolic mountaintop campground and were greeted by friendly faces, then escorted to a sweet, shady site. In walking around the campground we found it well cared for with a manager on site. Restrooms and showers were very clean. Surprised to find a great swim beach which many people were enjoying. The cell phone service is adequate and the 7-mile easy drive off the highway was well worth the minimal effort. We camped in our 30' Airstream trailer and would definitely return.
Was this review helpful?    (2)
A response from Tanglewood Camping
10/16/2018 2:20:09 PM
Hello! We know this review was a while ago, but we just wanted to reach out and say thank you! We hope that if you're ever in the area again that you come and stay with us. Thank you, Tanglewood Camping

Drummer Mike

Reviews: 2
Helpful Reviews: 2
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: July, 2016
2 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
A very lovely setting on a small mountain. Setting aside, as a Class A motorhome site, this place leaves much to be desired. There is about a mile of washboard dirt road leading to the campground. We did not receive much of a welcome, rather a highlighted map to our site and instructions from the young lady at the counter not to exceed 5 mph. (Considering the roads, there wasn't much chance of that happening.) When we arrived at our site we discovered that we were facing the "pull-through" in the wrong direction...not very helpful directions on the map. In many places, there are people who guide you to your site...not here. We have a 43 footer and were towing a car. As a result of the approach being backwards I had to loop around in an open field to get the correct orientation for a hook-up. It was a good thing the ground was dry. As for the site. Very large/loose gravel and very uneven. My levelers were not able to adjust for the slope and using leveler pads didn't work as the unpacked stones caused the pads to slip. Needless-to-say, we won't return. Having said all of that, I return to my original statement, it is a very lovely location for lighter rigs and general camping...just not for big rigs.
Was this review helpful?    (1)
Information, views and opinions expressed on this website are the views of the person posting the message, do not reflect the views of Good Sam, and are not endorsed, supported, encouraged, sanctioned, verified or agreed upon by Good Sam.


From Jct US-15 & Hwy 660/Main St: Go 1/4 mi N on S Main St, then 3 mi E on Canoe Camp Creek Rd, then 2 mi E on East Hill Rd, then 1-1/2 mi S on Tanglewood Rd (R)

Get Directions