American Wilderness Campground

17273 Avon Belden Rd, SR 83
Grafton, OH 44044
(440) 926-3700
Location: 41.23325, -82.02297

CLOSEST CAMPGROUND TO CLEVELAND
Accommodations include 50 amp, long pull-thrus. Only 25 minutes to downtown Cleveland. Easy access to Cleveland Clinic-Casino-Rock N' Roll Hall of Fame. Sports venues and Cedar Point. Swim-fish-play, too!
Open May 1 - Oct 15
Last Year's Rate
Card(s) Accepted
debit cards   discover   visa   mastercard   american express

Facility

Type (Campground)
Dump Station
Mobile Sewer Service
Partial Handicap Access
Emergency Phone

Policies

Folding Tent Campers Allowed
Pets Welcome
Tent Camping Allowed

Sites

Total Spaces (166)
Spaces Available (56)
Width (38)
Max Length (95)
Gravel Sites (56)
30 Amp
50 Amp
Seasonal Sites
Shaded (Mostly)
Water (56)
Electric (56)
Max Amps (50)
Pull-thrus (23)
Pull-thru Size (38 x 95)
Back-ins (30 x 78)
Room for Slideouts (Yes)
Site Length (95)
Fire Rings
Table at Site
Trash Pickup at Site

Rentals

Cabin/Cottage Rentals (2)

Tenting

Overflow Area

Internet

WiFi at Overnite Sites
WiFi at Park
WiFi at Park Supports Mobile Devices
3 Devices supported per Overnite Site
56 Sites with WiFi

Other Amenities & Services

Road Condition (Fair)
Road Type (Gravel)
Restroom and Showers
Laundry
Control Access Gate
RV Supplies
Firewood
Ice
Worship Services
Groceries
Escort to Site
Onsite RV Service
RV Storage
Self-Service RV Wash
Fishing Supplies
Onsite Rentals (2)
Restrooms

Recreational Facilities

Boating
Lake
Swimming
Fishing
Dock
Boat Rental
No Motors
Paddle Boats
Body Of Water (American Wilderness Lakes)
Horseshoes
Rec Hall
Game Room
Planned Activities
Playground
Outdoor Games
Pavilion
Nature Trails
Kayaking/Canoeing

Recreation Nearby (within 10 miles)

Hiking
Boating
Fishing
Kayaking/Canoeing

Discounts

Military Discount

On-Site Rentals

Customer Reviews

American Wilderness Campground
Avg Rating 3.27out of 5 stars 3.5 out of 5 stars  (22) Reviews
3.5 out of 5 stars   Avg Facility Rating
interior roads, sites, registration area, hookups, recreation, swimming, security, laundry, store and building maintenance...
3.5 out of 5 stars   Avg Restroom Rating
cleanliness and physical characteristics of restrooms, including interior construction, adequate supplies/odor free, adequate number of facilities, exterior appearance and location in relation to park spaces, and interior appearance.
3.5 out of 5 stars   Avg Appeal Rating
the park's setting and site layout, function and identification of signage, overall exterior building maintenance, noise, trash disposal, litter and debris around the grounds and sites, and appearance of grounds, sites and entrance area.

Beth Singleton

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: May, 2019
5 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
Great Staff..great place
Was this review helpful?    (0)

Coyneje

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: September, 2018
3 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
N/A  
N/A  
N/A  
Note: I pulled in close to 9pm after having to stop for repairs on the road. My entire stay was from 9pm to 11am the next day. This review is only for my campsite and experience, not the entire grounds or an extended stay. This was the closest I could get to the airport as I was picking up a friend at noon the next day and thus, the reason I chose this location. Pros: -Quiet location away from freeway or truck stop noises. -Easy reservations--I called and left a msg. on a Sunday and was called back within hours! -30 and 50 amp at my site, even tho I was told only 50 provided. -On site store! (I didn't get to visit it). Cons: -Water was brown for a while and even with a regulator, pressure was erratic. -Wifi didn't work anywhere, had to use my phone for hotspot which I like to reserve for boondocking, not paid camping! I really wish campgrounds would stop advertising wifi if they can't provide a connection to every site. -No street lights last few miles to the campground and none along the roads in the campground, a bit of a nail biter if you arrive after the sun sets. -Gravel roads and sites, so not level. I wouldn't want to be a TT or 5th wheel setting up in the dark. Another moment where I gave thanks for my Class C and suspension bags for side-to-side leveling or I would have had to strap in to my bed to keep from rolling off. -No shade for the pull-thru spots. Ran the AC even thru the night due to mild heatwave. -A little far from I-90, but a decent GPS will give good and accurate directions. (I was exhausted after a long day of repairs and driving, so found the last 20 miles in pitch dark rural roads difficult.) -No cable hookup. -Store and office hours are 11am-4pm.
Was this review helpful?    (1)

American Wilderness Ohio

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: August, 2018
5 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
The staff and the park is so nice. love it here.
Was this review helpful?    (0)

Tatsmam

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: June, 2018
5 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
N/A  
The employees are super friendly and speak to us like we’re family. The campground is always nice and clean and do so much to keep the kids entertained. My family and I have been here for over five years and would definitely recommend this campground to anyone!!!
Was this review helpful?    (1)

Hdawg

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: June, 2018
4 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
Used to have a camper here. Went tent camping a couple different times and always have a good time. Lots of fun.
Was this review helpful?    (0)

WGillespie

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: June, 2018
5 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
Check in easy. Office was so nice and answered my questions. Gave directions to attractions
Was this review helpful?    (1)

EllenH

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: May, 2018
5 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
Great place to stay!
Was this review helpful?    (0)

Ashley

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: May, 2018
4 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
Checked in 2 weeks ago the office staff very friendly with fast check in. Their store had lots of things that you would need if you may have forgotten something for your camping trip very very clean inside. Our pull thru site was very nice and had plenty of room. They have fully stocked Fishing lake that does not require you to have a fishing license caught lots of nice size fish! This was a weekend getaway for me and my husband so we did not bring the kids with us however there was lots amenities for the kids so definitely looking forward to coming back with both of our children. Bathrooms and bathhouse were in good working condition. Overall very satisfied and will definitely be back soon so our kids can go in the swimming lake and I’ll relax by the tiki huts on the beach.
Was this review helpful?    (1)

JHM1954

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: August, 2017
2 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
N/A  
N/A  
N/A  
Great website but it ends there . They first tried to put us in a site that was to small , then we hard a hard time getting a site . No internet,rough roads . Stayed because of rating on good sams but never again. Price is high for what you get.
Was this review helpful?    (4)

Michael Satterfield

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: August, 2017
5 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
Great campground, friendly staff, facilities and grounds are well maintained. Would recommend for a good camping experience.
Was this review helpful?    (0)

Leland Saunders

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: May, 2017
2 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
N/A  
N/A  
2 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
Recent rains made for a lot of really big muddy potholes. The RV site we were assigned had not been well maintained ... it was very muddy also. The layout of the sites and roads is not conducive for large RVs. Overhanging tree branches have not been trimmed back. Shortly after our one-night stay I found a tear in the roof of my 40' 5th Wheel. I am 90% positive this campground is the only one where this could have occurred. A Good Sam Overall Appeal Rating of 9.5 is WAY overdone. I would not give it more than a 7.
Was this review helpful?    (5)

Lovetobake

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: May, 2017
5 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
Stopped at this Campground when traveling to Cleveland. Entrance of the park was very inviting with the rustic lodge building and scenic trees. Registration was in the camp office and the staff was very helpful and accommodating. They gave us some destination recommendations to visit and directions around town. They do not have full hookup so we used the dump station. Road and sites were very large and spacious. We stayed in a pullthru of a wooded area. Quiet and scenic. Used the laundry facility and really great camp store. Great place to stay and will return again.
Was this review helpful?    (0)

the rock rock 1

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: May, 2017
5 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
Best time camping I've ever had! This campground is gorgeous! Its had to believe its a campground and not a resort. The campground store and the huge game room was awesome! Restrooms are very clean. Will return.
Was this review helpful?    (0)

Homer67

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: September, 2016
3 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
1 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
3 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
Overall average campground...needs repair on drives (potholes and mud). Only one nice bathroom facility at entrance...not conveniently located. Can be tight turns for big units and narrow entrance/exit. Nice game room and store. Nice treed lots...a bit pricey though. Not your normal friendly campers. Biggest gripe is a $7/person charge for a visitor to come and visit with you for 2 hours. I know that they have "access to all the park amenities until 11 pm", but this is mid-September...and to be honest you have no park amenities at this time of the year especially when you're only there for 2 hours.
Was this review helpful?    (1)

wild honeymoon

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: September, 2016
1 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
N/A  
N/A  
N/A  
Very disappointed staff was rude and disrespectful and want to charge for everything
Was this review helpful?    (0)

Full time campers

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: August, 2016
1 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
N/A  
N/A  
N/A  
No internet, low water pressure, narrow winding gravel roads to get to overnight sites and charged an additional $6 to chech in an hour early
Was this review helpful?    (0)

Ellen H

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: May, 2016
4 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
Enjoyable holiday weekend of camping! Grounds and facilities were well-maintained even though there was a big crowd.
Was this review helpful?    (5)

graz160

Reviews: 3
Helpful Reviews: 3
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: October, 2015
2 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
2 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
N/A  
2 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
Very poorly maintained! There are so many potholes filled with mud. We had just washed the truck and RV, so I was very distressed to see the huge quantity of mud that splashed up. The roads are seriously bad. The sites are level and we had w/e (30). If you have kids it looks to be entertaining.
Was this review helpful?    (2)
Response from American Wilderness Campground
3/16/2016 11:42:22 AM
We are not a resort. We are a park with gravel roads and we are not in control of the weather. We had an abundance of rain in 2015, therefore at the end of the season which is Oct 15th, the roads are not in the best condition. Every year, at the beginning of the season all the roads are re-graveled and are in tip top condition. Most campgrounds in this part of the country are not cement or black top roads. American Wilderness is a great family park and the great amenities make for a few pot holes at the end of the season.

The Meades

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: August, 2015
1 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
1 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
1 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
1 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
The staff and owners are rude and very unfriendly not professional at all. The sites are nice but have no sewer so you pay extra for tank draining. We would not stay there again.
Was this review helpful?    (1)
Response from American Wilderness Campground
3/16/2016 11:54:24 AM
We apologize if any members of our staff were rude and unprofessional. On the whole, we have an excellent trained staff who are taught to put the customer first and caterer to their needs. In all of our advertisements and when a customer calls to book a reservation, they are told that we do not have sewers, but we do have a free dump station and a pump-out service.

JohnnyF

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: July, 2015
2 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
2 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
1 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
2 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
This campground was a big disappointment. It was very crowded and we were off in a remote area beyond some cabins served by outdoor non-flush toilets. In stopping at the main area the next morning the shower area was crowded and there were complaints of no hot water in the showers. We elected to leave at that point. I noted that there were a couple of shower trailers which were not in use. There was adequate water and electric service at the site and we used the sanitary dump when leaving and it was fine. Overall, the park was poorly laid out with inadequate roads (it would have been a mess had it been raining) Sanitary facilities were marginal. There were some playground facilities and, I think, a pool but as we did not use these, I cannot comment about them.
Was this review helpful?    (1)
Response from American Wilderness Campground
3/16/2016 12:02:01 PM
We are sorry that our campground did not meet your expectations. From your comments, it is obvious that you were here when we were hosting an extremely large private group. The teens in the group were continually using our restrooms and were supposed to use the sanitary restrooms on the trailer, they did not, therefore are own restrooms were overcrowded. We do have wonderful amenities for families with young children, including our waterpark on our sandy beach. Hopefully, the next time you visit our park, we will meet your expectations.

cwGuest630577

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: September, 2015
1 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
2 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
1 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
1 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
No sewer connections, only one bathhouse for the entire campground and is too far away from most sites. Charge too much for site visitors. The wifi is terrible, keeps shutting off. Will not be back.
Was this review helpful?    (2)
Response from American Wilderness Campground
3/16/2016 12:20:54 PM
In all our advertisements and when making a reservation, customers are told that we do not have sewers, but we do have a free dump station or pump-out service. We are a popular campground and our shower house is located near the registration cabin. We keep the shower house and restrooms clean. There are additional toilet facilities in the middle section of the park. Every campground that we know of has a visitor fee. Every visitor who pays our fee can enjoy the amenities that are offered to our campers, which include fishing in our fishing lake, swimming in our beautiful, clean swimming lake which includes our waterpark, the use of the basketball court, volleyball court, horse shoes, game room, planned activities, entertainment and more. We do not believe that a $5 guest fee for children and a $7 guest fee for adults is too much to pay to enjoy themselves at our facility. We did have some problems with our Wi-Fi last year due to a new company of which we were unsatisfied. We apologize for that. We also, have an abundance of trees which sometimes interfere with our reception. We believe we have fixed the problem.

Blackmike

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: September, 2015
2 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
2 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
1 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
2 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
Buried in all the data you read about this campground is the item left out- no sewer connection available anywhere in the park. If you are staying any longer than a few days it would be very inconvenient. I booked here because of the rating given by Good Sam. Can't understand how they got such a good rating?
Was this review helpful?    (11)
Response from American Wilderness Campground
3/16/2016 11:34:56 AM
In response to review, in all advertisements especially Good Sam advertisements, it states we do not have sewers in our park. In addition, anyone making a reservation with us is told that we do not have sewers. Instead we have a free dump station and a pump-out service. It is not a pre-requisite to have sewers to get an excellent Good Sam rating and we have an excellent Good Sam rating. We appreciate your business.
Information, views and opinions expressed on this website are the views of the person posting the message, do not reflect the views of Good Sam, and are not endorsed, supported, encouraged, sanctioned, verified or agreed upon by Good Sam.

Directions

From I480 to SR 10 exit onto SR 83, go S 7.3 mi on SR-83 to campground on left.

Get Directions