Beaver Lake Campground Good Sam Verified Campground

12005 US Hwy 16, Custer, SD 57730

Good Sam Verified Campground
(19 reviews) 4.2 out of 5 stars from 19 reviews
Good Sam Rating
Good Sam Rating
Facility 9
Restrooms 10
Appeal 10
(19 reviews) 4.2 out of 5 stars from 19 reviews

19 PINE-FILLED ACRES IN CUSTER

Enjoy sounds of the breeze through the tall pines, birds singing, calm surroundings in a safe, small-town atmosphere. Try a spacious RV or tent site, or simple to deluxe cabins. Heated swimming pool & fun for the kids!

Members save more

Good Sam Members SAVE 10% at over 2,000 Good Sam RV Parks and Campgrounds nationwide.

Not a member? Join Now

Website

Address

12005 US Hwy 16
Custer, SD, 57730

Coordinates:
43.739670, -103.656850
Elevation:
5,600 ft (1,707 m)

Open April 1 - November 1

Cards Accepted

Debit accepted at this location Discover accepted at this location Visa accepted at this location Mastercard accepted at this location Amex accepted at this location

Social Media

Facility

Type: Campground
Cabin/cottage rentals: 9
Emergency Phone
Dump station
Laundry
Eco-friendly park
Learn more
Family camping
Learn more

 

Eco-friendly park
Learn more
Family camping
Learn more

Policies

Pets welcome
Tents Allowed
Folding Tent Campers Allowed
Road condition: Good
Road type: Gravel
Big rig sites
Onsite RV service
Table at site

Tenting Sites

Overflow area
Spaces available: 89
Site length (Max length): 60 (60)
Gravel sites: 89
Pull-thru size: 40 x 60
Pull-thrus: 27
Back-in size: 35 x 60
Room for slideouts: Yes
Shaded sites: Mostly
Park map
View park map
Number of full hookups: 67
Number of water: 22
Number of electric: 22
Amps: 30 Amp/50 Amp
Max Amps: 50

On-site rentals

Cabin/Cottage Rentals:

$52.00 - $168.00 / Daily Rate
Rentals available: 9

Restrooms
Cable
Ice
Laundry
Ice
Laundry
Guest services
Table at site
Entertainment
Dog park
Table at site
Entertainment
Dog park

Swimming pool
Outdoor games
Playground
Pavilion
Horseshoes
Pavilion
Horseshoes
ATV riding
Mountain biking
Road biking
Rock/mountain climbing
Mountain biking
Road biking
Rock/mountain climbing

(within 10 miles)

Archery range
Fishing
Hiking
Kayaking / canoeing
ATV riding
Kayaking / canoeing
ATV riding
Mountain biking
Rock/mountain climbing
Hunting nearby (within 20 miles)
Rock/mountain climbing
Hunting nearby (within 20 miles)

Get Out & Discover
Discover The Beauty of the Black Hills

Located 3.5 miles from Custer, SD. 30 minutes from Custer State Park and its infamous Needles Highway, 22 minutes from Mount Rushmore, 10 minutes from Crazy Horse Monument & 9 minutes from Jewel Cave National Monument.

Military Discount

4.2 (19 reviews) 4.2105263157895 out of 5 stars from 19 reviews
Facility
4.1
Restroom
4
Appeal
4.3
What is being rated?
5 5 out of 5 stars 07/16/2022

We've been camping together for over 30 years, and the site we stayed 7 nights in at Beaver Lake Campground was probably the most beautiful campsite we've ever spent time in. (Note: restrooms not rated, as we did not use them.) Our site was spacious, with a gorgeous expanse of natural landscape (pine trees, pond, lawn) behind our rig. The staff members we interacted with were friendly and helpful, and the little camp store offered a nice variety of useful items, including milk, which was very... Read More

We've been camping together for over 30 years, and the site we stayed 7 nights in at Beaver Lake Campground was probably the most beautiful campsite we've ever spent time in. (Note: restrooms not rated, as we did not use them.) Our site was spacious, with a gorgeous expanse of natural landscape (pine trees, pond, lawn) behind our rig. The staff members we interacted with were friendly and helpful, and the little camp store offered a nice variety of useful items, including milk, which was very convenient. The campground is located such that getting to Custer State Park and the other main spots in the southern Black Hills area was very easy. Being able to lock in the site when I made the reservation (after a pleasant, lengthy phone conversation with one of the owners) was SO worth the $25, especially since we were driving 12 hours--straight through--to get to BL. And the site was even more wonderful than she had described it on the phone. The campground has dispensers of bags for doggy waste pick-up here and there, which turned out to be super handy. I know they're working hard to keep improving the campground, so one thing they could do to be even better would be to offer recycling for more than just aluminum cans. Highly recommend!
Read Less

"Probably the most beautiful campsite we ever stayed in", couldn't be a nicer compliment". Thank you! And thanks for the recycling suggestion. Unfortunately Custer County does not offer recycling. The only other thing we can recycle are plastic grocery bags at the grocery store. Good Sam has recognized Beaver Lake Campground as a green business as we have solar and timed lighting, clean cleaning products whenever possible, installation of hand dryers to save paper towels, some composting,... Read More

"Probably the most beautiful campsite we ever stayed in", couldn't be a nicer compliment". Thank you! And thanks for the recycling suggestion. Unfortunately Custer County does not offer recycling. The only other thing we can recycle are plastic grocery bags at the grocery store. Good Sam has recognized Beaver Lake Campground as a green business as we have solar and timed lighting, clean cleaning products whenever possible, installation of hand dryers to save paper towels, some composting, emails instead of mail to save paper. We're trying as best we can. Maybe someday Custer will have more recycling opportunities. We are very rural. Thanks again and hope you come back to stay in your special site.
Read Less

4 4 out of 5 stars 06/07/2022

Friendly staff. Free hot showers. Good location if you want to stay in that area. I'd stay again.

1 1 out of 5 stars 07/27/2020

Horrible experience and will never go back. All other reviews were with the previous owners. The new owners 1. Did not have the first night of our reservation 2. Made no attempt to accommodate us. 3. Were rude about other customers right in front of us. 4. Ad was misleading - there is NO WAY this sleeping cabin sleeps 5. 5. We got enough coffee for 4 nights for only one 2 cup pot. 6. They did not have our friends reservation at all for a campsite and had to move people in order to accommodate them.... Read More

Horrible experience and will never go back. All other reviews were with the previous owners. The new owners 1. Did not have the first night of our reservation 2. Made no attempt to accommodate us. 3. Were rude about other customers right in front of us. 4. Ad was misleading - there is NO WAY this sleeping cabin sleeps 5. 5. We got enough coffee for 4 nights for only one 2 cup pot. 6. They did not have our friends reservation at all for a campsite and had to move people in order to accommodate them. It was 4th of July week and there were no vacancies in the area and we had driven over 12 hours to get there. 7. Only one of the pools was open. 8. Bathrooms some times closed because of problems (and we had a sleeping cabin so no water or toilet 9. Showers were dirty. 10. Shower water went from hot to cold to no pressure. 11. No paper towels and when my friend asked for TP they handed her 3 rolls to go Put in the bathroom herself. 12. NEVER APOLOGIZED. I'd give it a 0 if I could.
Read Less

1 1 out of 5 stars 07/24/2019

This campground has the worst cancellation policy of any Good Sam park. My wife and I had a 2 night reservation that needed to be moved 2 days later than reserved because my wife's Mother passed away. When I called to reschedule our days, we were NEVER told we would be a charged $20 fee to do so. Upon arrival the park staff were very confused and inept at getting our reservation for us. Upon checking on the charges we saw the $20 change fee and after leaving the park we questioned it. The person... Read More

This campground has the worst cancellation policy of any Good Sam park. My wife and I had a 2 night reservation that needed to be moved 2 days later than reserved because my wife's Mother passed away. When I called to reschedule our days, we were NEVER told we would be a charged $20 fee to do so. Upon arrival the park staff were very confused and inept at getting our reservation for us. Upon checking on the charges we saw the $20 change fee and after leaving the park we questioned it. The person we talked to was unsympathetic about the situation why we changed the reservation and told us she would not reverse the $20 change fee. When we told her we would not be writing favorable review of their park, she tried to suggest we were threatening her. Besides the cancellation policy, the park is dusty, and sites are very difficult to get large trailers or motorhomes into. There are many other parks in the Custer/Mt. Rushmore area that have far better amentities and cancellation policies to consider Buyer beware on this park, find another park.
Read Less

We are very sorry this Lady had a family tragedy. On 24 hr short notice she requested a change of dates on the 4 th of July week. We struggled mightily to accommodate her, when we were 100% full by reservation. even upgraded their site to a 50a fHu (17) from a 30a W/E uprated at no charge. The site ( 22) she reserved sat empty for those days, as we do not have drive in traffic over holidays. We do not give in to threats of bad reviews, we stand our ground, remind of our signed,agreed to policy,... Read More

We are very sorry this Lady had a family tragedy. On 24 hr short notice she requested a change of dates on the 4 th of July week. We struggled mightily to accommodate her, when we were 100% full by reservation. even upgraded their site to a 50a fHu (17) from a 30a W/E uprated at no charge. The site ( 22) she reserved sat empty for those days, as we do not have drive in traffic over holidays. We do not give in to threats of bad reviews, we stand our ground, remind of our signed,agreed to policy, Again, we empathize with the family for their misfortune. The other camps she references must have had more availibility.
Read Less

3 3 out of 5 stars 07/19/2019

good location to city and Custer State Park. Appealing for families. Most pads seemed roomy enough. Plenty of trees and shade at about half the sites. Camp fires are allowed which created smoke problems bordering on the unhealthy and had to keep windows closed. Restroom and showers were small but cleaned well. Wifi OK.

5 5 out of 5 stars 09/10/2018

Well groomed but natural. Big rig friendly. Welcoming staff.

1 1 out of 5 stars 08/30/2018

We stayed here for 2 days and it was the worst place I have ever stayed. The cabin was filthy . We were told it slept 2 to 6 people. We were also told it had a couch that made out into a bed. This was not true .The couch was a futon that made out into a bed. It was black with ground in dirt. There was a loft with 2 mattress on the floor of the loft that you had to crawl into. You could not even stand up in.. It looked like it had not been cleaned in over a year. There were dead bugs and cobwebs... Read More

We stayed here for 2 days and it was the worst place I have ever stayed. The cabin was filthy . We were told it slept 2 to 6 people. We were also told it had a couch that made out into a bed. This was not true .The couch was a futon that made out into a bed. It was black with ground in dirt. There was a loft with 2 mattress on the floor of the loft that you had to crawl into. You could not even stand up in.. It looked like it had not been cleaned in over a year. There were dead bugs and cobwebs all over it and the mattress were full of dust and dirt. The bathroom was just as dirty. The shower door was broken, there was ground in diet on the floor of the shower and there was black mold in the shower. The exhaust fan was hanging down from the ceiling. There was toothpaste on the floor from the last people who stayed there, they just covered it with the rug. We would not even get in the shower without shoes on When we arrived the lady who checked us in told us that we reserved 2 Cabins and charged us for 2 cabins. We had to talk to the manager the next Moring which turned out they double booked us and it was there mistake The lady stood there and keep telling us that we called. We had to pay for the second cabin but they refunded us the money it is just the point that they charged us. There attitude was not costumer friendly at all. This park does not look anything like the pictures on the web page. The camp sites for campers look to be alright. We never saw a lake at all I am sure it is there somewhere. When you are a 1000 miles away from home you do not want this to happen to you.
Read Less

We regret the visitor to our cabin 7 found it unsuitable. The family reunion she was part of and family reserved many campsites and cabins, cancelled some on short to no notice. In the interest of relations,to the family group, against policy and to our loss, we refunded her deposit for the other reserved cabin. Our cabins are well represented with descriptions and photos on our website. Cabin 7 is a bath with kitchen 4 bed cabin. It isnt big, it does have a low head room loft. A Futon... Read More

We regret the visitor to our cabin 7 found it unsuitable. The family reunion she was part of and family reserved many campsites and cabins, cancelled some on short to no notice. In the interest of relations,to the family group, against policy and to our loss, we refunded her deposit for the other reserved cabin. Our cabins are well represented with descriptions and photos on our website. Cabin 7 is a bath with kitchen 4 bed cabin. It isnt big, it does have a low head room loft. A Futon So how does she get away with reviewing all of our facilities as poor, when she never used any? And when she got refund against all policy? And is not a Good Sam member, so using a family members membership number to post.
Read Less

5 5 out of 5 stars 07/13/2018

We stayed at Beaver Lake in a 36' fifth wheel in July 2018. The campground staff is friendly and gave us some ideas of places to check out. It was about 30 min to Mount Rushmore, 15min to Crazy Horse and 30 min to Wind Cave. Sites were cut into a hill but they were not hard to navigate. They were flat and connections were easy. We only stayed one night but would have stayed more if time allowed. There is a lot to do in the area. The waterslide and pool looked like a lot of fun but there was... Read More

We stayed at Beaver Lake in a 36' fifth wheel in July 2018. The campground staff is friendly and gave us some ideas of places to check out. It was about 30 min to Mount Rushmore, 15min to Crazy Horse and 30 min to Wind Cave. Sites were cut into a hill but they were not hard to navigate. They were flat and connections were easy. We only stayed one night but would have stayed more if time allowed. There is a lot to do in the area. The waterslide and pool looked like a lot of fun but there was so much more to do we didn't get to try it out. Worth the price!
Read Less

5 5 out of 5 stars 05/14/2018

My husband and I and our pup travel extensively. This campground rates in the top 5. Rates were great. I have never found more helpful, friendly people. Every person here was awesome. They couldn't do enough for us, but at the same time stayed out of our business. Super clean, beautiful campground. Not a bunch of silly rules. Allow adults to be adults. VERY pet friendly. Would highly recommend.

5 5 out of 5 stars 07/20/2017

Very nice campground, with lots of shade. The owners/managers are very accommodating and made us feel at home.

5 5 out of 5 stars 08/29/2016

great camp ground, shady and clean. gives the feeling of peacefulness after a long day of site seeing. quick check in and guide to space. shower stalls could be a tad more private feeling up by the check in. doesn't feel very secure. for such a busy area, but they are clean and nice. very convent to all the monuments.

5 5 out of 5 stars 06/19/2016

This camp was beautiful. The management was helpful and friendly, everything was well groomed and maintained. Nothing was left out. They even have a compressor for visitor use for your tires. Wonderful experience. We will visit again.

5 5 out of 5 stars 05/30/2016

Beautiful place large grassy spots easy in and out I would highly recommend this campground

5 5 out of 5 stars 12/03/2015

Had a fabulous site out back, away from the road. Was nervous about backing in and up to the site but had great directions from the escort. Very quiet for the two of us as we prefer. Convenient to Custer State Park, Mt. Rushmore, etc. Store employees were very helpful in recommending what to see in our four days there, and what to have on our "maybe" list. Would stay there again if in the area. Clean restrooms.

5 5 out of 5 stars 10/20/2015

Very nice campground and great owners. They take pride in their campground. They had fire pits and we were able to enjoy smores for the first time of our trip. The grounds are tree filled. They have a nice playground. Free bikes to use for all ages. Nice little store for supplies and not far from many attractions. Clean bathrooms and really could not ask for anymore.

5 5 out of 5 stars 10/02/2015

Very friendly and helpful. Large spaces, shade trees and so many things to do onsite. What a great place to take the family. Couldn't ask for a better place to stay. We will be back.

5 5 out of 5 stars 10/02/2015

This was our second stay at this campground, as we stayed here last year in October. This time we stayed for 7 nights. The staff and owners are very nice and very helpful. They work hard to keep a nice, clean campground for everyone to enjoy. The shower house/restrooms were very clean all the time. We saw the owner and some of the staff always helping incoming campers to their site and would help them backup into their sites. We highly recommend this campground and we'll be staying there again.

5 5 out of 5 stars 09/15/2015

Nice campground. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Clean restrooms / showers.

Thank you for the kind comments. Our staff is mostly to thank for our facility and folks like you who give us ideas to improve. Max

5 5 out of 5 stars 08/16/2015

This place was very nice with an escort to camp site, owners were extremely nice, clean bathrooms. we had a very bad hail storm come through one evening and the staff handled it superbly with all the trailer damage and washed out road shoulders. By the next day all was fixed and back to normal...Kudos

Thank all of you for such kind reviews of our home, and yours when away from your home. Sincerely, Your grateful hosts Max & Cindy. Look forward in 2016 to the best internet and speed we can get from our IP. We Are!

5 5 out of 5 stars 07/16/2022

We've been camping together for over 30 years, and the site we stayed 7 nights in at Beaver Lake Campground was probably the most beautiful campsite we've ever spent time in. (Note: restrooms not rated, as we did not use them.) Our site was spacious, with a gorgeous expanse of natural landscape (pine trees, pond, lawn) behind our rig. The staff members we interacted with were friendly and helpful, and the little camp store offered a nice variety of useful items, including milk, which was very... Read More

We've been camping together for over 30 years, and the site we stayed 7 nights in at Beaver Lake Campground was probably the most beautiful campsite we've ever spent time in. (Note: restrooms not rated, as we did not use them.) Our site was spacious, with a gorgeous expanse of natural landscape (pine trees, pond, lawn) behind our rig. The staff members we interacted with were friendly and helpful, and the little camp store offered a nice variety of useful items, including milk, which was very convenient. The campground is located such that getting to Custer State Park and the other main spots in the southern Black Hills area was very easy. Being able to lock in the site when I made the reservation (after a pleasant, lengthy phone conversation with one of the owners) was SO worth the $25, especially since we were driving 12 hours--straight through--to get to BL. And the site was even more wonderful than she had described it on the phone. The campground has dispensers of bags for doggy waste pick-up here and there, which turned out to be super handy. I know they're working hard to keep improving the campground, so one thing they could do to be even better would be to offer recycling for more than just aluminum cans. Highly recommend!
Read Less

"Probably the most beautiful campsite we ever stayed in", couldn't be a nicer compliment". Thank you! And thanks for the recycling suggestion. Unfortunately Custer County does not offer recycling. The only other thing we can recycle are plastic grocery bags at the grocery store. Good Sam has recognized Beaver Lake Campground as a green business as we have solar and timed lighting, clean cleaning products whenever possible, installation of hand dryers to save paper towels, some composting,... Read More

"Probably the most beautiful campsite we ever stayed in", couldn't be a nicer compliment". Thank you! And thanks for the recycling suggestion. Unfortunately Custer County does not offer recycling. The only other thing we can recycle are plastic grocery bags at the grocery store. Good Sam has recognized Beaver Lake Campground as a green business as we have solar and timed lighting, clean cleaning products whenever possible, installation of hand dryers to save paper towels, some composting, emails instead of mail to save paper. We're trying as best we can. Maybe someday Custer will have more recycling opportunities. We are very rural. Thanks again and hope you come back to stay in your special site.
Read Less

4 4 out of 5 stars 06/07/2022

Friendly staff. Free hot showers. Good location if you want to stay in that area. I'd stay again.

1 1 out of 5 stars 07/27/2020

Horrible experience and will never go back. All other reviews were with the previous owners. The new owners 1. Did not have the first night of our reservation 2. Made no attempt to accommodate us. 3. Were rude about other customers right in front of us. 4. Ad was misleading - there is NO WAY this sleeping cabin sleeps 5. 5. We got enough coffee for 4 nights for only one 2 cup pot. 6. They did not have our friends reservation at all for a campsite and had to move people in order to accommodate them.... Read More

Horrible experience and will never go back. All other reviews were with the previous owners. The new owners 1. Did not have the first night of our reservation 2. Made no attempt to accommodate us. 3. Were rude about other customers right in front of us. 4. Ad was misleading - there is NO WAY this sleeping cabin sleeps 5. 5. We got enough coffee for 4 nights for only one 2 cup pot. 6. They did not have our friends reservation at all for a campsite and had to move people in order to accommodate them. It was 4th of July week and there were no vacancies in the area and we had driven over 12 hours to get there. 7. Only one of the pools was open. 8. Bathrooms some times closed because of problems (and we had a sleeping cabin so no water or toilet 9. Showers were dirty. 10. Shower water went from hot to cold to no pressure. 11. No paper towels and when my friend asked for TP they handed her 3 rolls to go Put in the bathroom herself. 12. NEVER APOLOGIZED. I'd give it a 0 if I could.
Read Less

1 1 out of 5 stars 07/24/2019

This campground has the worst cancellation policy of any Good Sam park. My wife and I had a 2 night reservation that needed to be moved 2 days later than reserved because my wife's Mother passed away. When I called to reschedule our days, we were NEVER told we would be a charged $20 fee to do so. Upon arrival the park staff were very confused and inept at getting our reservation for us. Upon checking on the charges we saw the $20 change fee and after leaving the park we questioned it. The person... Read More

This campground has the worst cancellation policy of any Good Sam park. My wife and I had a 2 night reservation that needed to be moved 2 days later than reserved because my wife's Mother passed away. When I called to reschedule our days, we were NEVER told we would be a charged $20 fee to do so. Upon arrival the park staff were very confused and inept at getting our reservation for us. Upon checking on the charges we saw the $20 change fee and after leaving the park we questioned it. The person we talked to was unsympathetic about the situation why we changed the reservation and told us she would not reverse the $20 change fee. When we told her we would not be writing favorable review of their park, she tried to suggest we were threatening her. Besides the cancellation policy, the park is dusty, and sites are very difficult to get large trailers or motorhomes into. There are many other parks in the Custer/Mt. Rushmore area that have far better amentities and cancellation policies to consider Buyer beware on this park, find another park.
Read Less

We are very sorry this Lady had a family tragedy. On 24 hr short notice she requested a change of dates on the 4 th of July week. We struggled mightily to accommodate her, when we were 100% full by reservation. even upgraded their site to a 50a fHu (17) from a 30a W/E uprated at no charge. The site ( 22) she reserved sat empty for those days, as we do not have drive in traffic over holidays. We do not give in to threats of bad reviews, we stand our ground, remind of our signed,agreed to policy,... Read More

We are very sorry this Lady had a family tragedy. On 24 hr short notice she requested a change of dates on the 4 th of July week. We struggled mightily to accommodate her, when we were 100% full by reservation. even upgraded their site to a 50a fHu (17) from a 30a W/E uprated at no charge. The site ( 22) she reserved sat empty for those days, as we do not have drive in traffic over holidays. We do not give in to threats of bad reviews, we stand our ground, remind of our signed,agreed to policy, Again, we empathize with the family for their misfortune. The other camps she references must have had more availibility.
Read Less

12005 US Hwy 16, Custer, SD 57730
Coordinates: 43.739670, -103.656850
Elevation: 5600

Directions
From Jct US 385 & US 16 (in town): Go 3.5 mi W on US 16 (L)

Get directions