Larsson's Crooked Creek Resort

24184 US 385 S
Hill City, SD 57745
(605) 574-2418

Open May 15 - Oct 05
5,000 ft (1524 m)
Last Year's Rate
$59 to $169
Card(s) Accepted
debit cards   discover   visa   mastercard


Type (Campground)
Partial Handicap Access


Pets Welcome
Pet Restrictions
Pet Restriction on Breed
Tent Camping Allowed


Spaces Available (84)
Width (20)
Max Length (65)
Gravel Sites (64)
Grass Sites (20)
30 Amp
50 Amp
Big Rig Sites
Full Hookups (56)
Water (28)
Electric (28)
Max Amps (50)
Pull-thrus (25)
Pull-thru Size (20 x 60)
Back-ins (24 x 65)
Site Length (60)
Fire Rings


WiFi at Overnite Sites
WiFi Hotspot
WiFi at Park
WiFi at Park Supports Mobile Devices
WiFi Hotspots (1)
1 Devices supported per Overnite Site
81 Sites with WiFi

Other Amenities & Services

Restroom and Showers
ATM Machine
Guest Services

Recreational Facilities

Heated Pool
Body Of Water (Spring Creek)
Rec Hall

Recreation Nearby (within 10 miles)

ATV Riding
Mountain Biking
Rock/Mountain Climbing
Snow Sports


Military Discount

On-Site Rentals

Customer Reviews

Larsson's Crooked Creek Resort
Avg Rating 3.43out of 5 stars 3.5 out of 5 stars  (7) Reviews
3.5 out of 5 stars   Avg Facility Rating
interior roads, sites, registration area, hookups, recreation, swimming, security, laundry, store and building maintenance...
3.5 out of 5 stars   Avg Restroom Rating
cleanliness and physical characteristics of restrooms, including interior construction, adequate supplies/odor free, adequate number of facilities, exterior appearance and location in relation to park spaces, and interior appearance.
3.5 out of 5 stars   Avg Appeal Rating
the park's setting and site layout, function and identification of signage, overall exterior building maintenance, noise, trash disposal, litter and debris around the grounds and sites, and appearance of grounds, sites and entrance area.


Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1

Date of Stay: September, 2020
5 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
New Owners are really making this place great and they are the most accommodating and nice people. At night they deliver firewood and ice directly to your site. Even if the store is closed they will deliver beer or wine! My kinda place!
Was this review helpful?    (4)

Becky B

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: June, 2020
3 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
3 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
3 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
Let me start by saying this is a beautiful piece of property with Crooked Creek running through it and adjacent to the George Mickelson trail. It is also very convenient to all of the area points of interest. We came in on a Saturday night. Live music at the pavilion - very nice. However we were told they would not place us after 9:00 pm. which as cutting it close for us after a long day of travel. We managed to arrive just in time and were escorted to a pull thru site which was great for a late arrival. However the site was so tight that we could barely turn into it with our 35 ft fifth wheel. We explained we had reserved a premium lot online and were told they don't have premium sites. Went ahead and set up since it was late and we were tired. Next morning, we could not even open our awning and could barely walk on the other side of the camper. They offered to move us but with only 3 sites to choose from we had to pick another site that was not made to accommodate a big rig. It was supposed to be a back in site but the rigs across the road encroached too much to be able to back in. We managed to drive thru the field behind the site and up an incline to pull into the site. Upon check out there was no way to pull out forward as the trees and other rigs made making the turn impossible. The staff were very nice and helpful in trying to find us a suitable spot and helping us back out thru the field we pulled in from. However, they really are not set up to accommodate big rigs.
Was this review helpful?    (1)


Reviews: 18
Helpful Reviews: 17
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: May, 2019
5 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
Very nice facility close to all of the attractions on the Black Hills. Best thing about this spot besides it's location is the VAST open area right in the middle of the park. Huge open area surrounded by different campsites. The sites are big enough but not huge individually it is just the sheer size of the open space. Great view of the mountains. Easy walk to the Michelson Trail. It is a very nice, wide trail and if you want you can walk to the Silver Dollar Bar but take cash. NO credit cards accepted. Would we stay there again? For sure. Custer State Park is very nice. Make sure to drive the Wildlife loop trail. Bison, pronghorn antelope, deer....lots of wildlife to see. The Prairie Loop hiking trail off the Wildlife Loop drive is a nice easy 2.5 mile walk. 2.5 hour drive to Devils Tower is worth the trouble as well. Over all Rafter J gets 5 Stars. We didn't use the showers or bathrooms but everything look very well kept.
Was this review helpful?    (2)


Reviews: 2
Helpful Reviews: 1
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: July, 2018
1 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
1 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
1 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
1 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
We booked our site 3 weeks in advance with a deposit to secure our reservation. The night we were scheduled to stay at this campground, I called ahead & spoke to the owner to notify that we would be arriving late because we were at Mt. Rushmore's evening lighting. At the same time, the owner emailed us -- because "she couldn't reach us by phone"..... When we arrived we found an envelope with a map which was totally impossible to read. It was a hand drawn map of 7 (yes seven) RV sites, on a piece of paper with highlighting to direct us to the site. For 1 1/2 hours of driving around (in what looked like a junk yard,) we couldn't possibly find our site. There were no signs, no site numbers, only corners where we literally had to back up and maneuver to try to navigate around impossible dead ends. The note included a telephone number to contact the owner. Unfortunately, there was no phone service in the campground! (That's probably why she wasn't able to reach us!!!) The note indicated that the owner's home was the "Red Barn -- behind the corral", and that we could reach them if we needed help. Neither the Barn nor the Corral was marked and both were impossible to find. In desperation, at 1:00 am, we left to find another campground. When we called the next morning, to ask for a refund, the owner's response was: "We don't give refunds, so do what you have to do!" This IS NOT "Good Sam" quality. We've been camping for over 30 years and have NEVER seen anything like this campground. Guests should be able to find their site--in daylight or in the dark! Good Sam Raters should totally remove their "seal of approval" from this campground.
Was this review helpful?    (6)


Reviews: 8
Helpful Reviews: 7
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: September, 2016
4 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
We spent a week at The Crooked Creek RV Park and found it to be centrally located for access to all of the parks and monuments in the area. The resort is right off the highway but we didn't observe any excess noise. The park roads and sites are gravel and level. There are many trees (we were still able to use our satellite) and green space as well. The laundry and bathrooms were clean and functional. We will definitely stay here again.
Was this review helpful?    (0)

Lovin retirement

Reviews: 6
Helpful Reviews: 5
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: July, 2016
3 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
3 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
3 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
A little disappointed overall. We booked a pull thru site and recieved a very uneven back im site. They refused to give me the Good Sam discount. I was told that I got their best rate and the rates were going up the following day. We were only there for one night, so what happened the next day was no matter to me. The people were nice. The pool was cute. The sites, unless you are in the middle of the park are really unlevel. They are well located to get to mt rushmore. Would probably try a different place if we come through again.
Was this review helpful?    (6)


Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: July, 2015
3 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
3 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
2 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
The sites were the SMALLEST (narrowest) sites we encountered on our 18 state trip this summer. We were unable to open our awning and the trailer in the next site did not have slideouts. When those campers left, the next campers had a triple slide toyhauler. They were unable to open their main slide fully until we left the next morning. The site next to us on the other side was occupied by an old motorhome that was sitting on concrete blocks with the awning tied down to our electric service pole and to a tree at the front of the site. It was obvious it had been there for longer than the camping season and the site was littered with wooden pallets (to avoid the mud) and some were being used as a "porch" under the awning. Ice at the service station down the road about half a mile was $1.79 a bag, The same 5 pound bag was $3.99 at the campground office. WIFI service was not available (advertised as upgraded service) and the tatterd sign "WIFI MAY NOT WORK" taped to the register gave the indication that it had been sitting there for much longer than "the next service call" to repair the WIFI. The office staff was apologetic and understanding when I voiced my concerns, but it was obvious they had heard the same conversation a number of times in the past. The campground location is "convenient" to the Black Hills tourist areas, but there are several campgrounds along the same highway that offer better sites and functional services at similar and often cheaper rates. I'd pass this one by in favor of campgrounds either closer to Rapid City or, if you want "rustic" closer to Hill City. There are some excellent "out of the way" and some "family oriented" campgrounds in the area, Cooper Creek just isn't one of them.
Was this review helpful?    (12)
Information, views and opinions expressed on this website are the views of the person posting the message, do not reflect the views of Good Sam, and are not endorsed, supported, encouraged, sanctioned, verified or agreed upon by Good Sam.


From Deerfield Rd in Hill City & US 16-385S: Go 2-1/2 mi S on US16-385S (L)

Get Directions