SEASONAL WORKERS/LONG TERM WELCOME This could be your home away from home! Seasonal workers or Long Term Guests Welcome. Located on the beautiful Kings River in a serene setting. We are just 3.6 miles off Hwy 99 @ Exit 112. Centered between Fresno & Visalia.
cleanliness and physical characteristics of restrooms, including interior construction, adequate supplies/odor free, adequate number of facilities, exterior appearance and location in relation to park spaces, and interior appearance.
the park's setting and site layout, function and identification of signage, overall exterior building maintenance, noise, trash disposal, litter and debris around the grounds and sites, and appearance of grounds, sites and entrance area.
I stayed overnight and was in the park for 19 hours. Temp during day at 5pm about mid 70s, 47 at night. They don't tell you until you arrive that they charge you .39 kWh and since it was not hot the cost would be around a $1. Around $5 when using a/c. They read your meter at check-in. You sign off on the reading. When checking out they ask you to take a picture and show it to the office when leaving. When departing the meter was changing from 5499 to 5500 but the last 0 was partly 0 and 9 and they charged me for a reading of 5509, 9 kWh more than I used. I challenged to office but they refused to correct their interpretation saying that's how the utility told them to read a meter. Needless to say we won't be back!
When I called to book there was a lot of background noise of children making it difficult to hear. Hard to figure out directions from the website. (Use Exit 112)
Gated community office was closed on arrival, then we were sent to the wrong campsite. Another acceptable site was found. Everyone was very pleasant but a bit disorganized. Bathrooms were super clean and pleasant, parking spots were spacious. Located next to river among orchards. Very pretty scenery. Most sites appeared to be occupied by long termers. Didn't try WiFi but cell service was excellent.(Hot Spot). No traffic or train noise which was a great plus.
Club Royal Oak is a beautiful park setting. Lots of shade and grass. It is too bad that California is in a drought because the scenery would be beautiful. The park is off the beaten path so no noise coming from the freeway. Staff is nice and friendly. The plus side. I don't know if I would call this park a resort, Not all spaces have full hook-ups or cable T.V. also and extra charge if you want WIFI. I never was charged before for an electrical surcharge before of $7.50 extra per night, plus when I made reservations the park wanted a $45.00 deposit to charge on my credit card right now. We stayed 5 nights and it was
$175.00 for the stay
- 45.00 for the deposit
+ 37.50 for the electrical
- 17.50 for Good Sam Discount
The total bill was $150.00.
Club Royal Oak was very charming but our experience there was not! We paid for two nights so we could explore the Sierras from there. We ended up only staying one night. The Manager was rude and pre-occupied when checking us in not really trying to accommodate our needs. We specifically asked for an open spot so we could use our Direct TV. That didn't happen. She said she would be down to our site to unlock the electric - that didn't happen. But the worst experience of our motorhoming experience (10 years) was that night when we went out to eat and to see a movie and the gate card that she gave us did not work. We could not get back in to motorhome for over an hour. There were no answer to the push button on the gate box or to the phone number listed on the sign. No emergency number! We were about ready to leave to find a motel for the night when one of the very few guests in the park returned and they were able to let us in! The next morning I told the manager what had happened and she basically blamed this experience on me for putting the key card in my wallet next to credit cards! And she wouldn't give us a refund for our unused day! We have had wonderful experiences with Good Sam parks but not this one!
I've been going to Club Royal Oak over the past ten years. There have been many changes over the years, some good, some not.
It has become increasingly expensive to stay each year. Improvements have been made to the park and rules and policies have changed, also some good, some not.
I enjoy the scenery, water (other than drought periods) and the friends I've made.
I like the town of Kingsburg and enjoy going there for food and supplies.
Basically, I haven't found another park like it. There's large trees on lawn areas with plenty of shade.
Most of he river front sites are large enough to park your RV parallel, presenting a picture perfect view of the water and activities.
The staff is courteous, helpful and tries to please.
However, security is sometimes difficult to summon and some of the rules (noise & after hour activities) are overlooked.
Over all, our experiences have been positive and we recommend it to our friends.
We were very disappointed in our stay. We were passing through the area and only needed one night accommodation. This park was very expensive for that. There are rivers and national parks in the area and if you are visiting those this place MAY be ok, but for a night or two it is not. The grounds are not well kept and they charge an extra fees that they do not tell you about on the phone. Keep on trucking by this place.
Was this review helpful? (12)
Response from Club Royal Oak
10/5/2015 11:56:55 AM
Thank you for writing a review. In all fairness however, the grounds and rest rooms of Club Royal Oak are very well maintained as reflected in our Good Sam rating and all of our site costs are published on our mobile friendly website. Our staff tried very hard to accommodate you because you stated this was the very first RV trip you had taken. It is unfortunate that your experience was negative and hopefully you will return in a non major drought year when water restrictions are not in place!
Information, views and opinions expressed on this website are the views of the person posting the message, do not reflect the views of Good Sam, and are not endorsed, supported, encouraged, sanctioned, verified or agreed upon by Good Sam.
The three-number rating that accompanies each campground listing in the directory gives readers an at-a-glance assessment of a campground's amenities, cleanliness and environment.
How to read the Good Sam Rating 10/10 /10. All three ratings categories are measured on a scale of 1 to 10, with 10 being the best.Less than 1 percent of parks or campgrounds receive the coveted 10 / 10 / 10 rating, which indicates superior facilities that are well maintained, clean, well-appointed restrooms and a highly appealing appearance.Campgrounds are inspected annually by dedicated RVers like you.
Completeness of facilities
10 / 10 / 10 The first campground rating evaluates completeness and quality of facilities.In this category we rate interior roads, sites, registration area, hookups, recreation, swimming, security, laundry, store and building maintenance.
Cleanliness and physical characteristics of restrooms and showers
10 / 10 / 10 The second rating category concerns the cleanliness and physical characteristics of toilets, walls, showers, sinks/counters/mirrors and floor. If a park achieves a full point in each of the above, it receives a star (), indicating exceptionally clean restrooms.
Also rated are physical characteristics of restrooms, including interior construction, adequate supplies/odor free, adequate number of facilities, exterior appearance and location in relation to park spaces, and interior appearance.
Visual Appeal and Environmental Quality
10 / 10 / 10
This category addresses the park's setting and site layout, function and identification of signage, overall exterior building maintenance, noise, trash disposal, litter and debris around the grounds and sites, and appearance of grounds, sites and entrance area.