VAN HORN RV PARK at VAN HORN TX
sammy logo

MEMBERS SAVE MORE!

Good Sam Members SAVE 10% at this location.
Not a Member? Learn More

Van Horn RV Park

#10 Kampers Lane
Van Horn, TX 79855
(432) 283-2728
Location: 31.03056, -104.82601

Mailing Address:
PO Box 295
Van Horn, TX 79855
Open All Year
Elevation
4,042 ft (1232.0016 m)
Last Year's Rate
$40
Card(s) Accepted
debit cards   discover   visa   mastercard   american express

Facility

Type (Campground)
Dump Station
Partial Handicap Access
Emergency Phone

Policies

Folding Tent Campers Allowed
Pets Welcome
Tent Camping Allowed

Sites

Total Spaces (94)
Spaces Available (92)
Width (30)
Gravel Sites (92)
30 Amp
50 Amp
Seasonal Sites
Shaded (Some)
Big Rig Sites
Full Hookups (92)
Max Amps (50)
Pull-thrus (92)
Pull-thru Size (30 x 75)
Room for Slideouts (Yes)
Site Length (75)
Table at Site
Tent-Only Sites (9)

Rentals

Cabin/Cottage Rentals (2)

Tenting

Overflow Area
Dedicated Tenting Area

Internet

WiFi at Overnite Sites
WiFi at Park
WiFi at Park Supports Mobile Devices
On-Site WiFi Tech Support
2 Devices supported per Overnite Site
92 Sites with WiFi

Other Amenities & Services

Road Condition (Good)
Road Type (Gravel)
Restroom and Showers
Laundry
RV Supplies
Metered LP Gas
Ice
Groceries
Escort to Site
Restaurant
Cable
RV Storage
Onsite Rentals (2)
Restrooms

Recreational Facilities

Swimming Pool
Pond
Swimming
Fishing
Horseshoes
Game Room
Playground
Outdoor Games
Nature Trails

Hunting Nearby (within 20 miles)

Season: Fall

Discounts

Military Discount
Good Sam Discount

On-Site Rentals

Customer Reviews

Van Horn RV Park
Avg Rating 4.52out of 5 stars 4.5 out of 5 stars  (25) Reviews
4.5 out of 5 stars   Avg Facility Rating
interior roads, sites, registration area, hookups, recreation, swimming, security, laundry, store and building maintenance...
3.5 out of 5 stars   Avg Restroom Rating
cleanliness and physical characteristics of restrooms, including interior construction, adequate supplies/odor free, adequate number of facilities, exterior appearance and location in relation to park spaces, and interior appearance.
4.5 out of 5 stars   Avg Appeal Rating
the park's setting and site layout, function and identification of signage, overall exterior building maintenance, noise, trash disposal, litter and debris around the grounds and sites, and appearance of grounds, sites and entrance area.

RV_Mundi

Reviews: 6
Helpful Reviews: 2
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: May, 2018
4 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
3 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
This is the second time we have stayed at this RV park. We stayed at this park last year and liked the park so we were happy when it was on our trip again. This stay was a bit different. The staff was friendly, bathrooms were well kept. There was hardly anyone at the campground this year. Couple things to note: 1. The pool was out of order when we stayed. 2. During the night we had our converter blow out. Not sure if it was because it wore out or if there was dirty power coming in from the electrical line. Note to self and everyone, remember to use a power surge protector on your incoming power line!
Was this review helpful?    (0)

JimReling

Reviews: 29
Helpful Reviews: 5
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: April, 2018
5 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
just an overnight stop but we would stay here again
Was this review helpful?    (0)

Wandering Betty Boop

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0

Date of Stay: February, 2018
3 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
1 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
1 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
We have stayed at your park on many occasions for several days at a time,in the past as we travel yearly through Van Horn. We have never had a complaint until our last stay. I realize that this park is in West Texas and there is a lot of wind and dust, but in the past the Store/Office, Laundry Room and Restrooms have been dusted on a daily basis. This trip we found just the opposite. The washers were so dirty that I had to clean them out before washing my clothes. The shelf above the washers ,the window sill, bookcase and folding table were covered in dust. You could tell that this room hadn't been dusted on a daily basis. The merchandise in the store/office had dust so thick you could leave your fingerprint. The fixtures in the restrooms like the hand soap dispensers were the same.. We had seen the staff on previous stays always cleaning and dusting. This trip the store/office staff was only seen making crafts, Not once during our stay did I see any dusting or cleaning done. Like I said, This is West Texas and there is a lot of dust, which means that extra attention should be paid to keeping the areas as clean as possible. The Grounds and sites were very well maintained as always. Maintenance was always working to keep the park clean and the amenities working properly. Just had a problem with the cleanliness of the store/office, restrooms and laundry. We will still continue to stay here on our travels through Van Horn, as the staff was friendly and very helpful and we love the Café. Food and service in the Café is excellent.
Was this review helpful?    (0)

Bassoon Lady

Reviews: 18
Helpful Reviews: 6
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: January, 2018
4 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
We stayed here In December on our way to the west coast from Florida and then again in January on our return trip. The park is older, but well kept. We enjoyed dining at the Café. The cook and server were so friendly, it was like having diner entertainment. Our site was plenty long for our 41 foot 5th wheel. In December, we were given a site that had a tree that would have scratched the side of our RV getting out. So, the park kept the site behind us empty so we could back out. When we stayed here in January we were able to get a site without a tree. Between the camp sites there is an area that looks like during warmer times of the year there might be grass. I would have given the overall rating a 5, but in December and January there were too many burr weeds. We had to carefully watch where the dog walked, so he would not pick up sticker burrs. Even in the dog park there were sticker burrs. Other than that, there was a nice dog park. The wifi was average. At times it worked better than others. The office staff was wonderful and very helpful with area information. While here we were able to visit Carlsbad Caverns. I also enjoyed some beautiful sunrise and sunsets here. The stars at night were also a beautiful site.
Was this review helpful?    (0)

BigDog4

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: December, 2017
5 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
N/A  
N/A  
If you are in a 45 foot motorhome and pulling a trailer or car, this is an ideal RV park when on I-10 in West Texas. It is absolutely "Big Rig Friendly". We were over 60 feet long and had room to spare. For its ease of access for BIg Rigs, I give it 5 stars. (Not looking for fancy landscaping and fountains when I am driving long trips.) I have stayed in many parks in Texas and some are most definitely not for long rigs. You will not go wrong with this one if you want safe and easy access after a long day of driving.
Was this review helpful?    (1)

Pugmire

Reviews: 13
Helpful Reviews: 9
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: January, 2018
4 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
3 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
3 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
3 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
Stayed there for four nights in the last of December through the 2nd of January. Got cold, like 16 degrees with some wind. Van Horn Texas is pretty much dried up. One grocery, one dollar store, few motels, couple of gas st.ations and a hospital that acts as the pharmacy although I went there to get a prescription and they were closed. One good Mexican restaurant call Loupe's or something like that. The park has a small cafe, propane, a office lobby area with ice and a few grocery items. The spaces were pull though (dirt/gravel roads and parking) with full 50 amp, water and sewer. Lot of people came in during afternoon and moved on next morning. Dozen or so stayed for several days. Looks to be an old KOA that is pretty well maintained. Not much for landscaping, bushes, trees. Pool was closed for winter. Mngt was helpful and nice. Good for a day or two layover.
Was this review helpful?    (0)

Jdrone

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: December, 2017
4 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
Enjoyed the stay and would stay again. I would have given 5 stars but the site could use some updating. Over all a clean park, friendly staff and a nice little cafe.
Was this review helpful?    (0)

S Smith

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: October, 2017
5 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
N/A  
5 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
Large spaces and nicely laid out. This was a real treat after spending the previous night in Odessa in a crowded, close quarters and narrow roads.
Was this review helpful?    (0)

Geno1953

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: October, 2017
4 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
N/A  
4 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
Easy on off from I 10. Cafe was a great addition to our stay. Would stay here again wide spaces
Was this review helpful?    (0)

Forgetful

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: August, 2017
5 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
N/A  
N/A  
N/A  
Level sites, friendly staff. Nice quiet park close enough to the highway. Nice pool. We left our EMS at the campsite and of course we didn't realize that until the next day. We called them and luckily they found it still hooked to the pedestal. Whew.... they mailed it to our home. We will stay there again when traveling thru Texas. Can't wait to visit when the cafe is open.
Was this review helpful?    (0)

Immaculate

Reviews: 2
Helpful Reviews: 1
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: June, 2017
5 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
we stayed here overnight on our way to Fort Worth. What a nice surprise! The grounds are very well kept. The pool was clean and inviting! They have 2 Pet runs! We recommend this campground to anyone passing through or staying for a visit to the mountains!
Was this review helpful?    (2)

Sandy n Fred

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: May, 2017
5 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
N/A  
5 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
Had the pleasure of staying in the park twice; once going to Austin and then again on the way back. All the sites are pull through. The sites are level. Obviously full hook ups. They are dog friendly with two nice dog enclosures and they are horse friendly with stables available. There's also a small pond for fishing and lots of bunnies and quail running around. The park is far enough from the highway to give it the feeling of being in the country, but easy to find. During the months of October to April, there's a cafe that has received very good reviews, but unfortunately we were there in May. Staff is friendly and helpful too. Directed us to a very nice local restaurant for breakfast. There's a nice pool, but we didn't take advantage of it. We didn't use any of the facilities such as restrooms or laundry, but based on our initial experience, I would expect nothing but nice and well kept facilities. We plan to return to Austin in the fall and plan to stay there again. We've joked that we need to get a horse too so we can take advantage of the stables!
Was this review helpful?    (0)

jonbouy

Reviews: 2
Helpful Reviews: 1
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: March, 2017
3 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
2 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
2 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
2 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
Ratings for this park are too high. Very dirty & dusty, compounded because no one goes the speed limit, including the staff. Isn't there something to put on the roads to keep dust down? Restrooms are not clean. I don't think you can because they desperately need remodeled. There are not any no smoking signs in the restrooms, so you get a shot of smoke usually when using them. One shower is down, hot water control is broken, leaving 2 showers for the men. The working staff are friendly and sociable. The, "Pond" is surrounded by apparently abandoned buildings and a vehicle sitting on the ground. An aerator would do wonders for the lake.
Was this review helpful?    (0)
Response from Van Horn RV Park
3/21/2017 8:06:37 AM
Thank you for your review. We are glad to take this opportunity to answer your concerns. The park has a water truck that is used on the roads on a regular basis. However, due to the climate the roads dry out rapidly. Our restrooms are cleaned on a daily schedule after the previous days guests check out and prior to the current days guests arrival. As with any public area that sees constant use they do need maintenance. This maintenance is scheduled during the portion of the year when usage is at a minimum and will provide the least inconvenience to our guests since the restrooms will need to be closed. No Smoking signs are posted in both restrooms as well as other signs stating that no smoking is allowed in any of our buildings. This is also stated in the park brochure that each guest receives upon check in. The shower that was down in the men's restroom was reported to park management by the guest that was using it at the time of the failure and it was repaired within 4 hours after this report. The buildings near the pond are not abandoned. two are trailers that are used by groups as stages when reunions and other events are held at the park. One building is our "Saloon" that is also used during such events. these buildings a made to look old and rustic in the setting of the western days of West Texas. Many of our guests use the "Saloon" as a photo op and the post card of it is one of our best selling postcards. The vehicle that you mentioned is parked in the very back of our property well away from any guest services and belongs to one of our long term guests who uses it regularly as a work truck. It has current registration and is not a derelict vehicle. We appreciate your comments especially with regards to our staff.

J and N

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: March, 2017
5 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
N/A  
N/A  
N/A  
Off the highway a short distance to make for a quiet night. Office staff very friendly. Restaurant on site serves well-prepared comfort food. Pecan cobbler with ice cream for desert was great!
Was this review helpful?    (0)

GarBearKCMO

Reviews: 5
Helpful Reviews: 3
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: February, 2017
5 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
N/A  
5 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
Great RV campground. Easy to get to but yet out of the city.. Very friendly owners and staff. The food in the the cafe is great.
Was this review helpful?    (0)

DDK789

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: February, 2017
5 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
Convenient on and off to the freeway. Traffic noise was moderate. View of the mountains excellent. Do yourself a favor and plan on eating at the cafe. Definitely would stay again
Was this review helpful?    (0)

Mick and Patty McClure

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: January, 2017
5 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
What a pleasant surprise to pull in and be welcomed by a staff that was so efficient. All spaces are large. Ours was 100'. We went to the on-site cafe for dinner and breakfast. The meals were great and the staff were so happy to be there and you could just tell it was a well run RV park. We would recommend this to everyone.
Was this review helpful?    (0)

MN Cruiser

Reviews: 16
Helpful Reviews: 11
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: January, 2017
4 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
N/A  
4 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
Terrific place for an over night stay. Sites are level and even. Traffic pattern very well designed. Staff was efficient and friendly. Far enough from I-10 that noise not bad.
Was this review helpful?    (0)

RV Guest_1273333

Reviews: 5
Helpful Reviews: 5
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: March, 2016
5 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
N/A  
5 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
I cannot say enough about this very friendly and quiet RV park. The sites are not on top of each other and are pull throughs. The cafe isn't fancy, but the food is good. You will not be disappointed. We will make a point to stay when we travel through Texas.
Was this review helpful?    (3)

RV Launch

Reviews: 2
Helpful Reviews: 2
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: March, 2016
3 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
3 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
3 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
Last minute stop after a long hour drive, searched the phone internet and found this place to be most accommodating. Personnel very friendly and had all hookups for a moderate rate. It helps to be a Good Sam member. We got there after closing, but left us the lot # and paperwork. All hookups worked great, bathrooms were older, yet very clean. Restaurant menu a little pricey.
Was this review helpful?    (3)

Patti R

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: March, 2016
5 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
N/A  
5 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
We are new to Rving. Found this RV Park to have it all. Loved the Cafe, we had the Salisbury steak dinner and then a country egg and sausage breakfast. It was great. Convenience store had a little of everything. Personnel very friendly and inviting. Look forward to returning some day.
Was this review helpful?    (2)

USMC traveler

Reviews: 5
Helpful Reviews: 4
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: January, 2016
5 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
Easy place to find. Lots of room for any size rig. Clean and well kept. I liked the cafe. The catfish was great. Easy people to talk to. Yes,we would stay here again.
Was this review helpful?    (3)

Dutchstar3812

Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: October, 2015
5 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
4 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
3 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
Easy access to I-10. Friendly staff.
Was this review helpful?    (1)

dshelato

Reviews: 17
Helpful Reviews: 17
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: November, 2015
5 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
N/A  
5 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
Very nice RV Park. Big Rig friendly. Plenty of room on the sites. Mountain views are wonderful. This park was a KOA park until May 2015 when new ownership declined to continue as KOA. You have all the great things that KOA offers you- including a cafe that is open 7 days a week for breakfast and dinner. Super friendly staff. WIFI gets a little slow when the park is full. I will return here in the future
Was this review helpful?    (14)

RV Guest_52453764

Reviews: 4
Helpful Reviews: 4
Good Sam Member

Date of Stay: October, 2015
5 out of 5 stars   Overall Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Facility Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Restroom Rating
5 out of 5 stars   Appeal Rating
While they think of themselves as only an overnight stop, this camp ground is much more than that. The sites are designed to give you lots of space on either side. The place is clean and well kept. The cafe on site is great, the store has what you need and the people are friendly. Take the time to talk to them While jokingly Van Horns claim to fame is that it's 150 miles to the nearest Walmart and the diesel fried chicken. There is lots to do and see in the area. That includes Carlsbad caverns, gradalupe mountians, Marfa Prada, the town of Mafa, the McDonald Obsevatory, Ft Davis, and the beauty of the desert itself. I spent a week there and felt very comfortable the entire time. Don't miss this little oasis in the desert. Your time spent there will be well worth it.
Was this review helpful?    (7)
Information, views and opinions expressed on this website are the views of the person posting the message, do not reflect the views of Good Sam, and are not endorsed, supported, encouraged, sanctioned, verified or agreed upon by Good Sam.

Get Directions

From Jct of I-10 (Exit 140-A) & US-90: Go 1/4 mi S on US-90, then E onto Kampers Lane (L)